Rena Filstar XP*

14 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Tmercier834747

Rena Filstar XP*

by Tmercier834747

Anyone out there own any of these?

My girlfriend being the lovely woman she is sensed my longing for a larger tank, for myself and my Dwarf Puffer. Maybe it had something to do with me constantly bringing it up and price checking online. lol Given the space we have in this apartment about the biggest we could swing is a 30gal hex shape, which MUCH to my surprise was sitting in front of the door when I got home from work this morning. Happy birthday to me. =D

I have no experience with canister filters whatsoever...Given my taste in substrate I think a UGF is pretty much out of the question.

I was thinking of going with the Filstar XP1 (250gph) which as I understand has an adjustable flow rate and venturi. Does anyone think this would be inadequate? I think Zambize was running two Marineland 150 HOB's (300gph) in her 29. I'm just not sure if I should go for Filstar 1 or 2 or something else completely. I've heard they're really good filters.

Also would the type of system for water return be practical in this shape of a tank? It's really freakin' tall. I really wanted a long tank but our apartment is so cramped I'm going to have to completely re-arrange the damn living room just to find a spot for this not-so-wide hex. Gonna be like a 10 hour process. -.- And then the pain and anguish of waiting a couple weeks for cycle...ARGH I'm so impatient and excited and, well. You know the feeling. lol

For substrate, I'm thinking of going with a Flourite base of 1-2" topped with eco complete, maybe a little over 1" and finally topped with Tahitian moon sand (the black stuff), though the sand depends upon what exactly I think of Eco Complete aesthetically as I've never seen it in person.

I re-did my gf's 10 gallon awhile back with the moon sand, and I love it.
Here's a photo:
http://www.ratemyfishtank.com/enlarge.php/17994