20 High Freshwater tank could use advice.....

36 posts • Page 1 of 4

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

JB20High9473

by JB20High9473

Ok. I am new to the hobby and just got a 20 High to start. I have always wanted to start a tank but never had the time for upkeep, but with a wife and kids now is the time. I am pondering some additions to the tank. I currently house 2 angelfish, both under 2 to 2.5 inches, and 3 tiger barbs. I was told this was a bad combo, and that I needed more barbs so the angelfish would leave em be, but if anything the barbs tend to chase the angelfish and all seem happy. My tank is fresh off its first cycle, so some moderately hardy fish, preferably on the same diet as the above mentioned, are what I am looking for. I also am not sure how many I can safely hold. I have heard the 1 inch per gallon rule, and know the angelfish are likely to get large(was told up to 6 inches). So what would be a nice addition?

Some moderate restrictions would be that they have to catch the wife and kids eye a little. Can't be too, how do I say it, "ugly" to a little girl. Also, like stated above, if they could all use the same diet of tropical flakes that would be great. The tank also needs to seem populated. I am happy with what I have for now, but the family wants more fishies as what I've got seems boring to them I guess.

I was thinking a Bala Shark... but heard they get kinda big.
I like the idea of a little freshwater crab, but have no idea how to take care of that.
I want to have room for a cat or some kind of algea fish for when the tank gets its own growth pattern going.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. If its gear I need please be specific on what you recomend. Sending me into a pet store after a new gizmo is like giving the wife a credit card and pointing at Macy's.

JB20High9473

by JB20High9473