"Centerpiece" fish for 55 gallon

14 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Zankren

by Zankren

We are starting a planted 55 gallon community tank. So far on the list of fish we are considering is:

Siamese algae eaters (5 probably), Otos (7 maybe?), Cherry shrimp (10 maybe?), Boesemani Rainbow (thinking 3-5), Blue Ram Cichlid (a pair), 2 different types of tetras (probably 7-9 of each type), African dwarf clawed frog (2-3), and maybe some ghost glass cats (5-7 maybe).

So that's what we were looking at so far. I was hoping to have one larger fish (6-8" perhaps) in the tank as sort of a centerpiece fish. Anyone have any suggestions? Also feel free to comment on what other fish we were already considering (too many, too little, don't get entirely?). I'm open to any suggestions...

Zambize4899

by Zambize4899

I'm no expert, but wouldn't the clawed frog be a danger to very small fish like the Tetras? I'm no expert on Cichlids either, but it seems that Tetras would sound like dinner to them. Others are probably experts on this though. Also, it sounds like it is over the 1" per gallon rule, which I know is controversial to some anyway.

I would start with your centerpiece in mind and build around it instead of starting with the peripheral fish and working to your prize.

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460

well as far as the amount of fish, this seems like its running close, however what type of filteration are you planning? this will heavily influence how many fish you can keep.

Darkruby5088

by Darkruby5088

Well,I agree with the others but one thing you need to watch out for is fish like the siamese algae eaters may change in their behavior and eating habits over tiime. Other fish may do this and sometimes they can be more agressive the older they get.

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460