Rate my equipment

13 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Reavicus

Rate my equipment

by Reavicus

O.k. so I have been doing this for a few years now and have not given up on the tank. However I realized that all the equipment that I use was basically recommended when I bought my first large tank at the LFS. So am I using the right equpiment?

72 gallon bowed front tank.
Cascade 1200 external canister filter (rated for 150 gallons)
2 Powerhead 402.
The factory lighting.

bennyphan

by bennyphan

It really depends on what type of tank you are planning on running and how many fish, live plants, etc. Factory light I would probably want to change, I wold recommend getting a better light that has dual bulbs. And depending on the bulb depends on if you plan to have live plant in your tank. But everything looks good so far.

Reavicus

by Reavicus

Its not a new tank. But kind of restarting, not from scratch. Live plants, about six, are in the tank. Community non aggresive fish. (tetra, gourami, pleco, frogs, danio, etc).
I had good luck with the live plants, until I was battling an algae problem (hence the start over). Guy at LFS recommeded 'Algae Destroyer'. Said it wouldn't harm the live plants. They all died. Algae lived. Algae gone now.

Peterkarig3210

by Peterkarig3210

Cemicals for algae is a bad way to go. Best to use stronger lights and do water changes to keep nitrates down.

A water test kit that tests ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, and pH, is a good thing to have.

Also, tanks as a kit usually/never come with enough light to grow plants.

There are low light varieties that are pretty easy to grow with a moderate amount of light, but many varieties will need special (expensive) lighting.

I use hardware store florescents for my low light planted tanks.

Reavicus

by Reavicus

Thanks, I do use the test kits.
I change 25 gallons a month in a 72 gallon tank.

Reavicus

by Reavicus