First tank trouble

19 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

5thbeliever

First tank trouble

by 5thbeliever

Hey guys,

I've just started the hobby and up until now I've been very pleased with the results. As a student, I'm on a shoestring budget, so I've started with a very basic setup (10 gallon tank, one filter.)

The tank has been in action for a month now and contains 6 plants, 11 tetras, a male betta and 1 pleco. Suddenly, I've had very murky (green) water (see attached picture.) I have done weekly 25% water changes as well as a 60 % water change 3 days ago in an attempt to clear up the water, but to no avail, the water is still a murky green. I wash out the filter wool in the removed tank water to conserve the bacterial population.

I suspect I may have been overfeeding so I've cut down on the quantity of food given. I have the fluorescent light on for roughly 11 hours a day.

Also, my first bio ball finished a couple of weeks ago. I was under the impression that these were used only to boost the initial cycling process. Is this the case, or should I replace these as they run out?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

jdak702

by jdak702

You could try running some carbon and turning off the light for a full day. Usually algae doesn't like going without a light. Probably overfed. I'm not sure what you mean by done with bio ball though. What is on the bottom of your tank? Gravel? Are you using a syphon to clean it?

mro2you2

by mro2you2

off topic, PK can handle your question but Im glad that that you havent had any problems till know but that pleco is going to get about a foot.

Have you cleaned the top window where light goes through. If I dont clean it often It gives my tank a yellow tint to it. This may be a stupid answer but hey.

mro2you2

by mro2you2

PK is the super smart one with the gars. All hale guru PK.... :) im in for it now.

bennyphan

by bennyphan