2 Danio dead

8 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

bltailor

2 Danio dead

by bltailor

ok. I am new to this and am having some trouble. I have 40 gallon tank. Stocked with (now 5) danio and 3 SAE. Today I had one of the Danios die. Before he died he started swimming upside down and sideways. I did a 4 gallon water change today so am not sure if that is coincidental or not. Now last week, I had a danio die in the same manner. What is going on? the Ammonia and nitrite tests are good. Also all the other fish are acting normally. It seemed to happen very sudden just as with the previous danio. Thoughts please. Thanks

Brikemond2250

Re: 2 Danio dead

by Brikemond2250

ok 1st off, you said that you have a 40 gal, well if you only take out 4 gal of water during a water change, your only doing a 10% water change, next time try taking out double that amount. As far as how your fish are action, there could be a few things that are causing this problem. 1. you might not have the Ph at the proper level, fish tend to shake or swim erratically when there Ph is not at the proper level, to fix this problem just add Ph up or Ph down. 2. the fish could have been injured in such a manner that thier swim bladder became damaged, if this is the case then there is not much that you can do.

Wisebonzai2199

I'd go with either chlorine or chloramine

by Wisebonzai2199

A lot of times an owner doesn't treat the 10% of water being added for chloramine and it takes 48 hours for it to usually begin killing fish. Signs are spinning fish who are gasping for air, and showing signs of having difficulty breathing.

Other things I can think of would be poor water quality, not enough air circulating, and/or too many chemicals. All of the above will kill fish. Danios, although a hardy fish, tend to die extra easy from overly chemically treating an aquarium.