VHO lighting problem

14 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

fihsboy

VHO lighting problem

by fihsboy

Okay so i bought the PFO 4 lamp ballast that will run 2 3 or four lamps....Problem is it will only run 4......if i put two in there it wont fire. If i put three same thing. Anyone have any idea how to either re wire......or what ever I have to do.

puffedupseagull

by puffedupseagull

Hi im an electrician by trade, and it could be that Electrically its not making the connection unless all bulbs are in.
Like a Christmas tree lights for example. Without looking it seems to me that they could be in series. If you take one bulb out, you actually in fact make the whole circuit open. It would be a matter of re wiring it so that they are in parallel. This way the current has always got a return path even when a bulb is out. Below is a link that describes it a little more in depth.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Series_and ... l_circuits

blueshoes2208

by blueshoes2208

haha i ddint know that, so im guessing you know what happened when my friend stuck a paperclip into the light socket?

puffedupseagull

by puffedupseagull

Let me guess he looks like one of the Jackson 5

blueshoes2208

by blueshoes2208

hahaha we saw a fireworks show in history class... sparks look cool on concrete walls and tile floors haha

puffedupseagull

by puffedupseagull

That stuff you guys have is baby Voltage. 110v isnt it. We have 240 at the house, some have 415v 3 phase places, but i work with live 1000v minig gear most of the time. Can be very scary when your underground about 5 kms and its blacker than black, and you see a metre long blue spark belt out of somewhere.

blueshoes2208

by blueshoes2208

yea lose all the numbers haha im not followin on that.... what the hell are you doin underground?

puffedupseagull

by puffedupseagull

Well your power in the us is 110v supply to your house it think. Our supply is 240 volts.