Can someone please explain to me how this fish died?

38 posts • Page 1 of 4

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Sunflowergirl

by Sunflowergirl

I had a gorgeous little pleco in my 30 gallon tank for about a month. I was concerned that I didn't have enough algae in my super clean tank, so after speaking to one of the knowledgeable staff members at my fishie store, he suggested supplementing with algae disks twice a week to make sure he was getting enough to eat. I had a regular chinese algae eater in my old 10 gallon last year that died of starvation because, being a novice, I didn't know he wasn't getting enough to eat. I felt horrible about it, but this time I was going to make it work. So, I was supplementing with the algae disks for the last 2 weeks and last night I found my pleco dead. It didn't look thin or sick or anything like that. I'm baffled and sad, I really liked this pleco, he was so cool looking. My tank is super healthy ph 7.0 (neutral) and ammonia is 0.0. I have several other fish that are all doing great, a couple of my fish are over a year old and doing great. I just don't get how this fish died, I was hoping to have him for years. Did I do something wrong? Any suggestions or advice is welcome. Thanks!

a1k8t31524

by a1k8t31524

do you use salt in your tank i hear that salt will kill plecos

Sunflowergirl

by Sunflowergirl

Hi,
Actually I do use 1 tablespoon per 5 gallons, I thought that was a good thing to keep away ick and prevent fish stress. No one at the aquarium store ever told me that. I will definitely look into that before I get another pleco. Thank you for the info!

Mattallica874353

by Mattallica874353

Hey,
It could've been the salt, however Ive had a pleco for 5 months now, and I still do my usual doses of salt, and he is perfectly fine.

Have you noticed any of the other fish picking on the pleco lately? Sometimes I notice my Oscar letting the Pleco know who's the boss haha.

LeviNHeidi4480