Fay coming my way

19 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

fihsboy

Fay coming my way

by fihsboy

Woo! First hurricane with a fish tank.....going to go to best buy and buy a UPS for the tank. Think http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp ... 2654249041 that will do for what I need. Im just going to hook in my main pump.....room temperature at my house is about 75 so im thinking the water temp will be fine for a day.....maybe turn on the heater for an hour or so to warm the water back up a little. 30 watts......im thinking that should make it run for at least a day.... Any idea if thats right or not?

schigara

by schigara

I'm too tired to do any math but most any battery backup would barely run an air pump for a day. Much less an return pump and a heater. A small 50w heater would consume the battery in no time by itself.

Snowboss4492

by Snowboss4492

i agree with Schigara - - -i used to be an electronics tech working on gas service stations - - i used to install UPS/Battery backups on consoles - -these consoles were basically standard desktop pc's - - -the brand we used was a commercial APC unit - - to run 2 consoles long enough to close them down and get reports required a UPS that weighed about 50 lbs and was the size of a decent suitcase - - -your looking at a 1200-1500 dollar UPS to run a return pump for more than a few hours - - - UPS are designed more for spikes and brown outs not continuous running without power - - - UPS = uninterupted power source - - - they should really be called power conditioners and in reality the commercial units are called UPC's now