Solar shades and fish tanks

6 posts

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

grammy22

by grammy22

I want to put solar shades in our sunroom. The windows face west and we only get a couple hours of direct sunlight in the morning as there are hills to the west. My question is...will solar shades be enough protection for my fish tank? Right now we have blinds that we keep closed at the end of the room where the fish tank is. Have not had any algae problems thus far with the blinds. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Diane in SD

dream2reef

by dream2reef

I would say yes. I've never tried it before but anything to redirect sunlight. Algae is it's friend yes. I'd through a black background on it too. good luck!

grammy22

by grammy22