Newbie design of filtration and tank

4 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

OrionX

by OrionX

Hi all, I am a newbie from the West Rand in JHB, South Africa, I would like firstly thank everyone on this forum, it has been such a great

wealth of knowledge, and i never ever had a any time to post anywhere before. As thanks i would like to share what i have learnt, im not sure

if this is the right place or not.

Attached is a tank design (and sump later) i came up with putting the best of everyones ideas together for a planted and fish aquarium. I have

built this tank and sump and it is running very well. I do apologise if this post is very long, and excuse my english, as i am new, but lets

not let be my excuse. Please advise if i am doing anything wrong. I will try to be as detailed as possible

My tank size is 90cm x 31cm x 31cm. I had two 25mm holes drilled on the one small side (maked in green SIDE VIEW) on opposite corners. The

lover was fitted with a bulkhead and 25mm pipe for draining to a sump. I found this to gurgle quite alot, so i used an inline reducer near the

top to 20mm into the sump(20mm pipe length = 50cm and 25mm pipe = 12cm), this somehow reduced the gurgling to nothing as well as using a bit of

roughish filter wool, kinda like plastic pot scruber material.

The top most hole was used for inlet from a 1660l/h pump that sat in the sump, connected to 25mm pipe up to a bulkhead. The bulkhead then had a

reducer to a 16mm rigid plastic pipe(IN GREEN ALL VIEWS did this as a 25mm pipe would not give me any pressure, and water just trickled in). I

am not sure if i should make this into a spray bar or not, but for now i just bent the pipe using boiling water to almost just under water

level leaving a bit of gap (for air in power failures so that the siponing action wont reverse flow tank water back into the sump).