I'm new at this....any suggestions?

15 posts • Page 1 of 2

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

Nikisfish

by Nikisfish

Hi everyone. I just found and joined this site tonight. I plan on becoming a regular here since I am already totally consumed in this aquarium idea. Yet another thing for me to get addicted too! I have been researching non stop for the past couples days. This is by far the most informative site I have found and the people seem great too :)

I am planning on buying a 10 gallon starter kit this weekend and I was just wondering if any of you could give me any words of wisdom as this will be my first aquarium. So far I know its going to be a freshwater tank with community fish and black gravel. I'm thinking either black or blue background as well. I'm not sure what kind if fish I want to start out with, or how many is too many. Wish I could get a bigger tank, but for now the 10 gallon will have to do.

Anyway, just thought i'd see if any of you have any advice for me. I look forward to your input!

jweb1369

by jweb1369

I would say go with a bigger tank. Once you get completely enveloped by this hobby you are going to want tank after tank after tank, and a 10 gallon won't satisfy you for but a week. However, there are many 10 gallon tanks that look amazing. The key to it is a lot of research and knowledge. Make sure you buy only stuff that you know you want. If you are iffy on something as this will happen often, just wait and think about it. Feel free to ask everyone here any questions or state concerns.

Now for the tank, you MUST know what kind of fish you want before you start to buy stuff to set it up. Once you figure that out, then it is easier for someone to help you and healthier for the fish because if you buy things specific to them they will feel more comfortable in the tank.