Aiptasia problem

7 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

newbie916

Aiptasia problem

by newbie916

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to the hobby and recently purchased an established 2 year old 100 gallon system on e-bay. It came with 125 lbs of live rock and 100 lbs of live sand. All of the power heads, T-5 lighting system, sump, protein skimmer, live stock, and much more. It's been running for over a week now and has been doing great. I moved the entire system along with 70 gallons of its original water. However, there are a large amount of Aiptasia anenomes on every rock. If I had to guess, probably over 100 of them in various sizes. I went to the local reef store and they sold me some calcium to put on them to kill them, but there are just too many. The store owner told me that my best option is to put my live rock in the sun and dry them out for a few days. I don't want to do that because I would hate to have to cycle the system all over again. I heard peppermint shrimp, copperbanded, raccoon butterfly's would be a natural way to kill them. However, if I keep corals, the butterfly's may make a meal out of them. What are your experiences and recommendations? Because I would eventually like to add some more corals to the system.

schigara

by schigara

Copperbands are great at eating aiptasia but most don't survive long in captivity and they are not reef safe.

Peppermint shrimp are the best solution short and long term. They are not 100% reef safe as some will eat certain polyps. I had one that would eat polyps from a Stylophora SPS coral. I pulled him out and replaced him with another peppermint that does not eat any coral polyps(yet). You just have to keep an eye on them.