Sump Leak!!

4 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

newbie916

Sump Leak!!

by newbie916

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the hobby and just upgraded to a 100 gallon acrylic system with a 20 gallon sump.I purchased the established system on e-bay and just picked it up yesterday and finished around 1 am. Luckily all of the fish, corals, and livestock survived my 6 hr take down, transport, and set up. Everything is running great except for I noticed a small pool of water near my sump. I put some kitchen towels because I thought it was excess from the move, but I've been checking it every few hours and the towel is soaked. Do you have any recommendations on how to fix it. I would hate to have to run out and spend another $300 on another sump. I appreciate the feedback.

fihsboy

by fihsboy

Eventually your going to have to do a more permanent fix, but for now, you could go get some aqarium sealent and attempt to seal it off on the outside if you can see the leak. You can pick this stuff up at any pet store. and if its a crack of some sort cut a piece of acrylic and put it over the sealent, sandwhiching it between both piecies of acrylic. This should help it for now. But if its glass..........its just going to get worse, which means your going to have to get a new one......or better yet build one. Get yourself a 20 gallon tank, or long, I prefer long. Make a few chambers, and you can even give yourself a refugium. Im going to post pictures of mine. Hope this helps bud.

newbie916

by newbie916

Hey fihsboy,