Black Tahitian Moon Sand -- looks cool

8 posts

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

zambize

by zambize

I keep being drawn to this sand....I have black gravel right now. I originally wanted the BTMS but I'm a newbie and knew that it would add an unnecessary challenge when I was just trying to keep my guppies alive.

Now I'm thinking about it again. I've searched the internet but can't find anything very detailed about the potential issues with this. I can't find whether or not my fish are compatible, if removing my gravel all at once will affect my bacteria level too much, if my bio-wheel will complain, if there are any extra considerations around vacuuming (besides don't suck up sand)...etc.

And is it just a really bad idea to try and change out the substrate in a stocked tank. That worries me the most. Also, this sand is supposed to be beautiful, great quality, etc....any personal experiences with it? I found a few pictures of real tanks with it but no great pictures.

Thanks guys....

Z

jinx

by jinx

Z,

This is TM83 on my girlfriends account.

In the picture you see her tank with the moon sand.

As with most aquarium substrates its inert, will probably need to be washed, wouldn't recommend adding it with fish/water unless its been washed over and over (this is done by adding some to a bucket then adding water to swish up all fine particulates, then dumping the water and an angle over and over until the water being dumped appears clear).

Should you decide to add it to your existing substrate the thicker stones will eventually rise to the top as the sand sifts down through and condenses.

If you have a possible future desire to go planted go with the black flourite sand I have in my 30gal instead. It's not quite as visually appealing but the results above it are. It's more clay based and charcoal/black in color. Neither will alter your water parameters, and both are favorable to most bottom dwellers.