FEEDING FOR AFRICAN CICHLIDS

8 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

fish20085028

by fish20085028

How often should they be fed, the reason i ask that is because the packaging of the pellets states to feed them 1 to 3 times a day. I know that all packages say this but i am new to the cichlids and still learning their personalities. I am currently feeding them cichlid staple mini pellets but they act like they cant respond to floating food. I have some tetra flakes that sink to the bottom and they just destroy that. So how many times should i feed them a day and any ideas on what food would be the best fit for them. Thank you

Serial324556

by Serial324556

I have never owned African Cichlids. I have 3 Convict Cichlids. They are quite small and never respond much to the pellets they just spit them out.
I feed mine mostly flakes, once in the morning and once at night before the lights go off.

I also feed them Mysis, Plankton, and sometimes frozen krill which they love. I feed them one selection of these 2 to 3 times a week switching it up a bit here and there.

miami754

by miami754

You'll need to be a bit more specific about what types of Africans you own, but if you are referring to mbunas, they need a diet high in vegetable matter and low in animal protein. They are hebivores so when you feed them live food such as brine shrimp or worms, they can develop a condition known as Malawi bloat.

Instead, feed them a spirulina-based food along with a piece of zuchini rubber banded to a rock or a peice of lettuce clipped to the side every once in a while.

I feed mine 2 times a day - nce in the morning and once at night. Feed them enough flakes/pellets such that they finish it off after 3-4 minutes.