need help fast!!

2 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

walkingcrow3

need help fast!!

by walkingcrow3

I know someone whom I think is making a very big mistake. The tank was only 3 days old when they added live rock. Tank at 4 days old and two hermits, one snail and one clown was added. Tank at 5 to 7 days old now has added an anemone of some kind, one more clown fish, and a purple and yellow fish. (I am not good at remembering saltwater fish names at all, so bear with me here). Now the tank is less than two weeks old and several corals are added, an angel and two more fish on top of the other stuff added in only two weeks time!! I am very very concerned about the short amount of time that this tank has been set up, there are also seems to be some sort of very very fast growing dark green hairy algea growing everywhere in tank. The lightening I am not sure about for the anemone growth, but it really isn't getting enough lighting considering it is hiding almost underneath the live rock. It is possibly a long tentacle anemone, but anyway, they were told to keep the lighting on 24 hours a day. So they have been since they first set up the tank. Going to Pet co doesn't seem to be helping them at all considering the lady was trying to put live rock in bags!!! AHHH! I really would like to have some input on this to see what everyone thinks and I don't really know if there is a chance to save this tank. They really are beginners and have not read up on anything.

FishFanatic4021

by FishFanatic4021