New Here- Couple Questions

4 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

WilliamG5645

by WilliamG5645

I posted an intro over in the General Section. I have a new 55 gal tank, and I have limited experience with planted tanks. There are no fish in the tank yet, and there will be no CO2. I have some java ferns that I transplanted from my 12 gal to help the cycle.

My question, should I add flourite around the base of the plants and mix it in with the gravel? Or is there a better option the be sure the plants get enough nutrients?

I have read about what bulbs for the lighting, but I am not clear on exactly what to get. It is a standard hood. Any suggestions.

I look forward to participating here and learning as much as I can. Thanks.

Tmercier834747

by Tmercier834747

Neither lighting or substrate are my expertise, but my heaviest experience is with flourite. I have never used eco-complete, though some (not saying any names :) ) will swear by it. Only reason I don't use it is because it's not available at ANY of my local fish stores.
However I've had good results with flourite. I started my 16 gallon with playsand and shortly thereafter realized I wanted some real plants, so after a bit of research I went out and got some flourite.