3 gal tank advice

11 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

iamgolden

3 gal tank advice

by iamgolden

Hi, I am fairly new to this hobby (actually it's my sons tank, hah!) I have a 3 gal Eclipse set up which I just drained, bleached and cleaned as I stupidly had a goldfish in it and could never control the ammonia, then he got dropsy and died over a long period of time. Anyways, I am going to do it right this time and need your awesome advice. My son does not want a beta, as this was my first thought. I would like to put some anubias nana on wood and can you recommend substrate, I think I should stick w/gravel for cleaning ease. Are there a couple of small fish I could introduce once it has cycled and possibly a type of algae eater? Thank you in advance, this is a nice board!

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460

does the 3 gallon have a filter, and what is the filter type? Without a filter, i wouldnt suggest that many fish, or you might be stuck cleaning it quite often. A hang on back filter would be relatively inexpensive for a 3 gallon and will really help the water quality and cut your work load... plus the fish will love you. having the plants will help tremendously. As far as the fish, tetras work well... they remain small... good luck though!

LeviNHeidi4480

by LeviNHeidi4480