New Seahorse Tank Opinions?

3 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

seahorsefanatic

by seahorsefanatic

Hi I'm new to aquariums keeping however after assisting my boss look after her Seahorse Aquarium I have done a lot of research and wish to start my own aquarium.
I have done loads of research but wanted to get others opinions in case I missed anything.
I will not add all these things right a way its just a goal for where I would like my aquarium to look like.

I wish to purchase a tank between 150-300L with a minimum height of 50cm.
I would like to use live rock and a live black sand bed.

- My main feature will be the 2 seahorses (tropical but unsure what species exactly looking at hippocampus erectus)
- I would like 2 Green Mandarin Dragonettes
- An Astraea Turbo Snail
- Bumble Bee Snail
- Feather Dusters/ Fan Worms and Dwarf Duster in the Rock
- Either an Orange Star Fish or Linckia Blue Starfish
- Dwarf Blue Legged Hermit Crab
- and a copepod breeding in the corner of the tank

Coral I have been looking at include:
- Spiny Sponge
- Blue Sponge
- Sun Coral
- Caulerpa
- Yellow Fiji Leather
- Red Flower Tree Coral
- Colony Polyps
- Lavender Mushroom
- Purple Ribbon Gorgonian

With my Tank Mates in mind Believe i will need the following water levels:
Density 1.023-1.026
Ammonia and Nitrites 0
PH 8.1-8.3
Temp 20-26 Degrees Celsius
Am unsure of water flow rate, alkalinity, dKH and any other levels required.

If people could please let me know If i'm making any mistakes or if they have any suggestions.

Thanks Im really looking forward to the challenge of maintaining this tank and would like to avoid fatalities.

reefseed

Re: New Seahorse Tank Opinions?

by reefseed