Feeder fish good or bad?

4 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

inchesmon

Feeder fish good or bad?

by inchesmon

I've been feeding my pike feeder gold fish for the past 2 yrs now, he normally eats pellets but every 2-3 months for the sake of variety I feed him feeder goldfish. Today I came across on the web that goldfish are infact a bad for both the pike and my cichlids. So now I want to find a alternate source of live food and I'm thinking about trying grasshoppers or even shrimps. Also is there another type of feeder fish aside from goldfish that I can feed my pike?

Okiimiru

Re: Feeder fish good or bad?

by Okiimiru

One of the disadvantages to buying feeder fish from a pet store is that the pet store's multi tank filtration system mixes water from different tanks and increases disease communication. When you buy feeders from the pet store you are taking a risk whether or not it carries a pathogen that can infect your pike.

There are two ways to prevent feeder fish from spreading disease to your pike.
1. Get a quarantine tank and quarantine new feeders to make sure they're healthy.
2. Breed your own feeder fish.