scary bubble omen... im a noob, HELP!?

10 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

djsnowman06

by djsnowman06

ive got a 23 inch bubble wal in my 18 gal tank. the surface of the water is covered it wat looks like soap bubbles. i know what ur thinking, the is no soap in the water. im currently in a tank cycle ( 1-2 weeks ) also there is very small bubbles floating around in there too making it look cloudy. could this be from the bubble wall alone and if so would putting it on the timer with my light remedy this with no ill effects? what do u guys think?

natalie265
Site Admin

Re: scary bubble omen... im a noob, HELP!?

by natalie265

No, i don't think this is the bubble wall. I've seen tanks with lots of air stones and perfectly clear, suds free water. It might have something to do with your tank cycling. Are you cycling with fish or without? What are your readings on ammonia, nitrate and nitrite?

djsnowman06

by djsnowman06

i have fish, im cycling with bottled bacteria which i use every time i do water changes, as per the instructions. the fish are completely healthy it seems. i dont have a test kit yet but ive been keeping to a %20 change every 2nd or 3rd day just to keep ammonia and nitrite levels below toxic. the brand of antichlorine and bacteria i use is nutrafin - aqua plus and cycle, respectivly. could it be the products?

natalie265
Site Admin

by natalie265

Chlorine removers don't cause that, but maybe it's the bacteria stuff. I've never used it, so i can't say.

That's great that you are doing frequent water changes, but i'd still recommend a test kit. It's pretty important, especially while your tank is cycling. You want to be aware of raising ammonia levels BEFORE it starts to affect your fish's health, not after.

djsnowman06

by djsnowman06