What are your biggest pet peeves about aquaruims?

10 posts

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

inchesmon

by inchesmon

My biggest pet peeve when it comes to aquariums is the forever eyesore multi colored gravel, I'm talking about the one that has the pink, aqua green, blue and every other color you'd find in a crayola box! Sorry but it drives me up the wall lol!

Okiimiru

Re: What are your biggest pet peeves about aquaruims?

by Okiimiru

My biggest pet peeve is stuff that really likes growing in the tank but you really don't want it to. Especially when you remove what you think is all of it and it comes back.

I'm a cell biologist by trade so the best analogy I can make is that my fish tank is like a petri dish with tasty media in it. The fish and certain, specific species of plants are like the cells I want to culture. The algae and those annoying species of plants like duckweed are the fungus that contaminates my incubator. And there's no way to keep anything sterile :( *sad face*

natalie265
Site Admin

by natalie265

Ditto on the multi-colored gravel.

But i think my biggest pet peeve is people putting goldfish in tiny tanks and even bowls. I see people advertising tanks as small as 1/2 gallon on our local classifieds with the selling point: "perfect for goldfish!" It's tempting to respond to their ad telling them they are idiots.

dream2reef

by dream2reef

Why not just add some Prime to your petri dish?

djsnowman06

by djsnowman06