Cycling Question

11 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

natalie265
Site Admin

Cycling Question

by natalie265

I just got a brand new sponge filter for my now defunked 5 gallon shrimp tank. I'm hoping to get this back up and running again, and i think this filter is going to work a lot better than my home made one. I have it running in one of my established tanks. My question is: how long does it take on average to build up a colony of bacteria? I am impatient to have another go at cherry shrimp, but i want to avoid any more catastrophes.

marcusrose123

Re: Cycling Question

by marcusrose123

im not a pro on this question however i would leave it atleast a week just to be sure :/ the longer the better i would guess :P

Okiimiru

by Okiimiru

"My question is: how long does it take on average to build up a colony of bacteria?"
It takes approximately 30 to 40 days. You will know the cycle is complete and that ammonia is being instantly processed into nitrite and then nitrate when a test kit reads 0 ppm ammonia and 0 ppm nitrite after previously having nonzero values.

Slide 8 of this powerpoint presentation has a day by day plot of what the levels look like. http://www.ag.auburn.edu/~davisda/class ... Design.pdf

Check out the graph on this page: http://cms.marsfishcare.com/uploads/fin ... 0sheet.pdf

natalie265
Site Admin

by natalie265

I've always heard that "quick start" type products were garbage. It would be interesting to see an independent study match their results. Have you used the product?

I'm not going to be able to test the sponge by testing my ammonia and nitrite because they already read zero in the tank. Will this affect the time it takes to get the sponge ready?

Okiimiru

by Okiimiru

"Have you used the product?"
No. I too wish I could find a third party to confirm or deny their data. If you find one let me know.