Fish not doing well - Beginner needs help

8 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

janky

by janky

Hi everybody.. i'm brand new to this hobby, as we just got a hand-me-down tank from the family and decided to use it. I got really intrigued and jumped in but I think I made a few mistakes.

We have a 12 gallon (roughly from my calculations) hexagonal tank. Initially we set the water up with filter and heater for about 4 days and then added 2 snails.

About 3 days later we got a handful of fish, which I think was a bad idea because we introduced them at the same time.
We bought 3 danios, a guppy, a tetra, and 2 ghost shrimp.

about a week later we added another guppy and a tetra.

I was using the rule of thumb for 1 gallon per inch of fish, but ignoring the snails because they are usually at the bottom or on the walls... however, I think we over-crowded the tank. That, and I definitely learned that we shouldn't have introduced them all at once.

One tetra died pretty quickly, it wasn't eating and just hid the whole time. Then my original guppy died the other day. I noticed he wasn't as colorful and started getting really pale and light along his back and stomach - but when I took him to the pet store they said he was fine.

They said my ammonia levels were too high, so I bought one of the $3 ammonia remover filters (I was advised to just toss the filter in the tank directly - not in the filter itself - for a week).
Aside from the ammonia they said my water was fine.

I'm trying to learn and graduate to a bigger tank once I know what I'm doing - so does anyone have any ideas why those two fish died? Anything I may be doing wrong (outside of overcrowding)? Anything I should look for or test?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for the novel.

Okiimiru

by Okiimiru