New Fish Tank

5 posts

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

drichardson2

New Fish Tank

by drichardson2

Hi everyone. I am relatively new to fish keeping. I am just wondering how to start a planted tank and how long to wait before adding some plants to it. I will post some pictures on here when I get home. Also, how should I position them so that the fish get all the space and security that they need.

Sorry if this has already been answered in a previous thread.

mcfaddy212000

by mcfaddy212000

Is the tank full of water now? Is the subsrate in place as you want it? If so decorate with whatever your planning on putting in there driftwood etc....... And then put your plants in. I have never waited on plants, then you want to wait a week or two weeks before adding fish. Normally people want to put the taller plants in the back cause it adds depth. Try to vision what you want it to look like and place the plants accordingly. Hope this helps

natalie265
Site Admin

by natalie265

Depends. It can be good to cycle the tank before adding plants because ammonia plus light can lead to major algae out breaks. With live plants, cycling with low/no light is not an option. On the other hand, live plants can help break down ammonia, so can actually aid the cycle. I opted to cycle my first tank with plants. I started the tank off pretty heavily planted and added fish extremely slowly, and it worked very well for me.

Also, if you are new to planted tanks, choose your plants carefully. Some plants are very particular about light, fertilizers and CO2 and it can be very discouraging when they all die off. Let us know if you want some suggestions for easy to grow plants.

Alasse

by Alasse

Adding plants to a cycling tank shortens the cycle process. Wisteria is an excellent plant to cycle with as it is a nutrient hog and will beat out algae. All my tanks cycle with plants, even if the tank will end up non planted at the end of the cycle.