HELP MY FISH KEEP DYING!!!!

20 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

kristalee

by kristalee

So we got giving this 70 gallon tank for free with all the fish so we are very new to all this fish stuff. But now are fish keep dying i dont know what wrong!

We have
1 black ghost knife
2 albino tiger barbs (one is 6inches one is very small maybe 1 1/2 inches)
1 tiger barb (hides in the shell)
1 barb (not sure the type he has his mouth bitten by a lobster and was put in this tank)
2 sucker fish (plecostumus) very large
1 small catfish
1 neotetra (there was 8, 7 got eaten by someone!)

And we HAD 3 bala sharks, 1 dies instantly when put into the tank :( one died last week and the sucker fish was trying to eat him, the this morning the large one and the only one left was swiming upside down (still is) he is about 6 inches and is probally going to die :( he is quarantined right now.

Im very new to this whole fish stuff but why do my fish keep dying? I also bought 2 elaphent nose fish and one dies the day i put it in the one died about a month later out of nowhere :(

ANYBODY WITH ANSWER PLEASE HELP! I dont want all my fish to die but at this rate ill have no fish by next month. What can i do?
edec0-DSC01394.JPG
a6a41-DSC01395.JPG

Alasse

by Alasse

Can you tell me the tanks water stats please

Ammonia?
Nitrite?
Nitrate?

Sounds to me the is not cycled and the fish are paying the price for this

DanDman18

by DanDman18

I agree, except that if you have very high ammonia, nitrate and nitrite usually the watcer is very yellow.

Alasse

by Alasse

Errrr no its not

Alasse

by Alasse

The tank i have pictured below, clear as a bell, no yellow tint in any form.

The tanks stats at the time

Ammonia Off the charts (test tube is no longer black but a definate green now *L*)
nitrate 170ppm
nitrite Off the charts

This tank was a toxic waste land yes looked a dream *LOL* You cannot tell by looking at it
2c154-5ft 11th Oct 2010.jpg