New Freshwater Tank

12 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Leia

New Freshwater Tank

by Leia

We have a new freshwater tank that has 2 dwarf gouramis, 3 tiger barbs and 1 tiger shark. When we first purchased the tiger barbs one had cotton mouth. We returned the fish and have treated the water with a fungus cure that contains Victoria Green B. I have been unsuccessful with removing the green color from the water and am wondering if anyone has any suggestions. I have already replaced the carbon filter and added some bio-chem zorb.

Also I am new to this & have a few other questions.
1) Two of the tiger barbs seem to stay right by where the water comes out of the filter and the other tigerbarb swims throughout the tank. Is this normal?
2) We have a 25 gallon tank with a Top Fin 30 filtration system. Do we need some sort of aerator as well?
3) Any additional recommendations to make my fish happy and the tank beautiful would help!

natalie265
Site Admin

by natalie265

Seems to me the best way to remove the color from the tank is to simple do a few big water changes. Not sure about the tiger barb behavior. It doesn't sound normal. Maybe you do need more aeration. Usually when fish hang out near the top of the tank, it means they aren't getting enough oxygen. You said this was a new tank. Has it finished cycling? Do you know what the ammonia, nitrate and nitrite levels are in your tank?

Leia

by Leia

It has not finished cycling. Tomorrow will be day 8. Ammonia is between .25 & .5. Nitrate & Nitrite are both at 0. I did a 50% water change on Sunday as per the instructions for the fungus medication.

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach

hanging at the filter means they are needing more oxygen (by filters, where the water comes out of, is the richest area for oxygen in the tank unless there is aeration)