need help with planted aquarium

6 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

werjack15

by werjack15

60 gallon tank (freshwater), looking to plant and wondering what I need to get started, lights, fertilizer etc. Ideally would like a tank with significant foreground cover and some large plants for background, would also like to keep a population of 15-20 fish

Mike0372983

Re: need help with planted aquarium

by Mike0372983

I dont have a planeted tank but all I have to tell you is that you do not want to mix cichlids with planted plants, they twnd to destroy them by either eating or digging them up.

Hope it helped, Michael!

john90009

by john90009

i have a planted tank however im not a pro like some of the other people on here but i can tell you that your going to need a strong light. a likght with 3 watts pergallon i think is a dependable amount.i find that 6700k bubls work good i have all ym tanks run off of powercompacts but im only 17 and cant afford stronger and better ones. also you will need a subtrate bed which will have nutrients alredy in it. i know that seachem makes a subtrate for planted tank and also other brands do the same. Many people use root tabs which are fertilizer sticks thast u put in the sandbed so the roots can absorbe nutrients. Amazon sword plants are heavey root feeders which will thrive off these fertilizer sticks. other fertalizers are liquids tha u pour into the tank. some keepers have c02 systems which pump co2 which is a need for plants into the water. there are do it your self ways to creat one if you dont feel liek spending hundreds of bucks on a co2 tank. this do it yourself ideas are good because it uses yeast, warm water and sugar to make Co2. there is one problem with planted tanks, and that is algea. if you do not keep your water leves right algea will grow and u will dislike the look of your tank and your plants will die due to insuficient nutrients.