Two quick questions to begin with

9 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Engprof

by Engprof

Hi everybody,

I haven't been able to find any threads on this particular issue here, so...

1. Do I have to have a canister filter to have live plants or is a power filter okay?
2. If I do not, is the Aquaclear 50 a sufficient filtration system for a 29 gallon planted aquarium?

More info if you want it.

I have been visiting this site, and many others, for several months, but this is the first time I have posted anywhere. I am nearly ready to start my first aquarium.
I haven't read all of the "I just started an aquarium without reading anything and now my fish are sick/dying and I'm looking for an internet miracle" threads, but I have read many and am looking for advice beforehand.

I want a planted freshwater aquarium that features a group of cardinal/neon tetras (or guppies I haven't decided yet) and some misc. invertebrates and loners if things go well and there is room. I have planned on doing a fishless cycle so that I can establish the plants and their arrangement before adding any fish. Right now, I only have a tank and a stand. I would like to purchase everything else to get started next weekend.

It is a 29 gallon tank and I had planned on purchasing an Aqualclear 50 power filter from the lone pet store in my small town (there is a PETCO 70 miles away).
http://www.hagen.com/usa/aquatic/produc ... 6100020101

However, I read recently on another website that a canister filter is basically a requirement on any and all tanks with live plants and the only ones at the pet store are rated for way beyond my 29 gallon tank and priced high enough to be a deal breaker on the whole project.

Alasse

by Alasse

A canister filter is not a must on a planted tank, i have 3 of them that are running internals only.

I'm not familiar with AquaClear filters to advise sorry

DanDman18

by DanDman18