New Saltwater fish tank, help!

13 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

raulgocubs

by raulgocubs

So I have a 36 gallon tank of freshwater fish. I'm moving my fish to a 20 gallon tank and using the 36 gallon bow front tank for saltwater (new to saltwater). How many fish can my tank have? what do I need besides a filter and and heater? Since I'm new to saltwater, I'm going with a fish only tank, no coral reef for now. What kind of fish can I get also, any advice?

heredia0223

by heredia0223

First the amount of fish also depends on the amount of filtration,but rule of thumb is 1 inch per gallon capacity. if you are going with fish only and no live rock at all, then go with a wet dry system. if you are planning to use live rock, then use a plain sump for filtration and the live rock will take car of the biological filter. My suggestion is if you are not sure of what you are going to do in the future then go with a sump and live rock. because if you ever want to put corals later it will be beneficial to not have a wetdry in your tank. As far as lighting goes, you can go with a set of 2 X 39 watts t5 ho lamps and that will be suffice if you want some corals later. Your tank will look very nice with these lights even if you go with ornamental rock (dead coral rocks).
00af8-IMAG0034.jpg

jerimeb

by jerimeb

i agree, but dont forget about a protien skimmer and refugium, with grass in it. when u add fish dont add thems all at once too much of a bio load in a new tank. set ur tank up with ro water let it cycle for a month or two. check ur amonia, nitrites, nitrares etc.. definetly get live rock! its a must!!! do ur homework on the fish u want. dont get excited and see a fish u like and just get it. good luck, im not on everyday but ill answer as often as i can.

raulgocubs

by raulgocubs

Why live rock? does it look good? or is it good for the fish?

heredia0223

by heredia0223