I'm a noob with lots of fish!

35 posts • Page 1 of 4

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Stampede

by Stampede

So here'es the deal. I just recently bought a house with a "pond" in the back yard filled with fish. It's really just a hole in the ground that has a liner and about 4 inches of fish poop and debris along the bottom. The hole itself holds somewhere around 600+ gallons of water.
Initially I was thinking that I would remove the fish temporarily and redo this monstronsity by using researched info and some trial and error, but have recently decided to scrap the whole thing. I did however borrow a 55 gallon tank already, so I decided to move the fish and ready the whole for a nice filling of dirt :).
So, I started three days ago by setting up the tank (I'll have to get specs on gear when I get home from work). I waited a day after I treated the water before I ventured out back with my net and bucket. Long story short; I moved three fish into the tank for a "trial" period to make sure they didn't die, and they lived!
So last night I went out back and caught the remaining 14 fish and moved them into the tank. Today, everything still seems to be ok....other than the fact that I have what is probably a hugely over populated tank filled with what I'm thinking are koi ranging in size from around 6" - 2". I could be wrong, but then again I really don't know what the heck I'm talking about.
Anyway, hello all, and here are some pics!
a770f-fish2.jpg
45fd3-fish3.jpg
8148a-fish.jpg

natalie265
Site Admin

by natalie265