Automatic feeders

11 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

natalie265
Site Admin

Automatic feeders

by natalie265

Does anyone have any experience with these? I'm talking about the feeders that drop a bit of food into the tank daily, NOT those blocks that slowly dissolve in the tank. The reason why i ask is that i'm just setting up a 55 gallon tank in my office. I work in a school and have about 2 months off in the summer. I'll be coming to the school on a weekly basis to do cleaning and maintenance, but it would be nice to not have to worry about them at all during the interim. What do you think?

yasherkoach

by yasherkoach

as long as it is for a short while and not to take the place of your not feeding them (I frown upon this).

But if you have to, and in this case, it appears you must, then you can either get one online at:

https://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/ ... 12136&s=hl

or something similar at your local neighborhood store.

Best to get one that will feed high quality flakes for 30 days on a digitized timer.

Hope this helps

Tmercier834747

by Tmercier834747

I think as long as you have a good understanding of what your fish ''need'' beforehand, and you can test the auto feeder a bit, they're fine to use.

Many frown upon them because they set them up without giving much thought about how much excess food will be dispensed and how detrimental this can be to a tank. I can already see thats not the case with you.

I would just be sure to pick one where you can get the most detailed increments, and one hopefully that would dispense the leaner end of the spectrum rather than the fatter if you get my meaning.

Test it out under observation first if you find a lot of excess food just cut it back if possible, or set to only feed every few days and add some bottom scavengers like ghost shrimp or mts, pond snails, etc.