wat do i do

11 posts • Page 1 of 2

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

vixx

wat do i do

by vixx

hi...can somebody help me please....ive just got a new tank. can anybody tell me what i need to do with the new tank before i move my fish from my old tank into it. do i need to start over or can i just move the water from my old tank into the new one. any help will be much appreciated as im a complete beginner.

peterkarig

by peterkarig

OK, to get started........Do you want any live plants, even the easy to grow, very beautiful, low-light variety?

Are you using an under-gravel filter?

What is the size of the new tank, and what kind of filter do you have?

Do you understand the need to grow benneficial bacteria needed to break down fish and other waste into less toxic nitrates?

Have you had problems, and what are they, with the tank you already have?

Tell us more and we can help more. PK

vixx

by vixx

hiya.. thanx for getting back to me..

I have no live plants in the old tank and am not intending to have any in the new one.

I haven't an under gravel filter in the old tank (which is 36"x12"x18" ) just an internal fluval 3+...
The new tank is coming with an internal fluval 4+ filter and is pretty much the same size, just a better tank.

Ive had my old tank a good few months and haven't had any problems for quite a while now but i dont really understand about beneficial bacteria etc...i do 20% water changes weekly and test the ph level but thats about it. The fish i have in the old tank seem to be doing well

thanx again for your help

Peterkarig3210

by Peterkarig3210

The first toxic product produced by fish and other waste is ammonia

The second is nitrites, which are created when bacteria break down the ammonia.

The third is nitrates, which are created when bacteria break down the nitrites and change them into nitrates.