Need Lots Of Advice Please! switching fw to sw

11 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

ryand63

by ryand63

Hi, I am a college student that has a huge interest in salt water aquariums. I have always had fish and currently have an all malawi cichlid tank. I am really interested in starting a salt water tank and have tons of questions. I thank anyyyyone who reads this and responds. First off, would a good filtration package consist of a marineland bio wheel filter, live rock, live sand and a protein skimmer? When doing water changes, hwo do you get debri from sand, won't it get sucked into the syphon? What will I need that is different from a freshwater tank? Any knowledge is appreciated. Thanks so much.

fihsboy

by fihsboy

Fresh and salt are completly different as you can imagine. I think you will be surprised on how easy your sand is to keep clean. I didnt touch my sandbed in my 29 for a whole year.......and it was healthy as anything. Get you a good sand stirring crew......such as nassarious snails and a cucumber once your tank has matured. Filtration sounds okay......dont want to do a biowheel though....its not going to help you. Your live rock will do everything in the way of filtration. Live rock and good skimmer........your in business. Im going to take a guess on a number....I would say 95% of your filtration is done with a skimmer and liverock. That other little bit.........can be done with water changes. Dont use anything but RO/DI water. You will be glad you did. Invest in a good top off system. You can DIY or buy something..........DIY is going to be half the price. which is nice. everyone else will chime in with good advice. and Welcome to RMFT! :)

fihsboy

by fihsboy

ps.....Blue and myself are also college students. Reefing on a budget is completly understandable.

ryand63

by ryand63