Questions on beginning a reef tank

7 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

adamcore

by adamcore

Being new to anything dealing with reef tanks, I have a couple of questions. On a students budget what type of equipment do I -need- to buy to begin a small reef setting in a 30 gallon tank? Any particular filter that isn't too expensive I should be looking at, protein skimmer, etc... And how do you actually start putting together a reef? I have a local fish store that has a really big section for saltwater fish and they sell corals by the fingers.

thanks a lot. :)

jweb

by jweb

Well, if you tell me exactly how much money your talking about spending I might be able to help you out a little better. I don't think there is such a thing as a cheap reef tank. Everything about them is expensive. If you really get into it nothing can stop you from spending money on it either. It's an addictive hobby and not for the poor man. However, I am a student as well and don't even have a job. The money I invest is mainly scholarship money and such. For a decent setup on a 30 gallon your looking at around $300 atleast (bare minimum) for your lights, filter, etc, etc.

puffedupseagull

by puffedupseagull

BEST MAN TO TALK TO IN REGARDS TO YOUR LIMITATIONS OF BEING A STUDENT ON A BUDGET IS
BLUESHOES.
HE HAS BEEN THERE DONE THAT ONLY NOT TO LONG AGO

newbie916

by newbie916

I would agree with the guys. Look on craigslist for a good deal. Search under reef, saltwater, corals, nano tanks, bio cubes, etc. I found a 29 gallon with MH lights, Live rock, fish, anenomes, and corals for $425. Without the corals I could have gotten it for $300, but the corals alone were worth over $1,000 in the LFS. You could always post what you find and ask us to take a look.

blueshoes2208

by blueshoes2208