first tank?

14 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

GongShow

first tank?

by GongShow

Hi I'm a 18 year old student I'm looking to get back into the hobby since a long absence with a new reef tank. I have yet to purchase a tank or any of the equipment necessary for a reef. I have two spaces in mind for a tank one being a built in shelve measuring 48 by 24 and height is not an option but seeing as it's built into the wall this would eliminate a sump as a option for filtration and such. And a area besides this shelve being about 40 inches in length and 26 inches in depth, where i could put a stand making it much easier to house a sump. Being a student cost is a huge concern to me and i was wondering what size tank i should go with that will still be able to house a wide verity of fish and inverts yet remain fairly cheap to start out with and not to difficult. It would also be of great help if you could also advise me in what equipment i should be purchasing along with the tank and recommend any good, cheap hardy fish & coral species to start the tank of with.
Thanks for your help

fishchum

by fishchum

30-50 gallon is a safe bet. Not too much cash but good fish options. Sumps are a plus and having the tank drilled with an overflow. Do lots of reading and look at tank threads on forums, they are interesting and informative.

GongShow

by GongShow

yeah i have been doing plenty of reading. I also came across the red sea max 130 and the 130D along with the solana all in one aquariums and was wondering if these are reliable starter options seeing as they contain everything that is needed

fihsboy

by fihsboy