Fish stocking help.

9 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

unifyzero

Fish stocking help.

by unifyzero

I've got a 25 gal Tall tank that I just started cycling. This is my first attempt at a tank and so I would like to see what people think of my idea for stocking the tank (once it's done cycling of course). Currently there are 3 fish that I would really like to get. I'm thinking a Clown Plecostomus for my 2nd fish. After that I'd like to add a Red Tailed Black Shark and finally an Odessa Barb. First of all I need to know if that combination would work. From what I've found it seems that the Shark and Barb are both territorial and aggressive, but tend to work with other fish of different species as long as they are similar in size.

To start the tank though I'd like to introduce 3 hardy schooling fish that prefer the middle or top of the tank. I need help in this area because I don't have any specific species in mind. From what I can tell it will most likely be difficult to find a species that would flourish, due to the aggressive nature of the fish I plan on introducing later.

Are there any livebearers that would be good? From my research if I get two females and a male they should start producing frys fairly early on. I'm not opposed to nature taking its course so if the parents, and later the other fish were to eat them I would not be too heart broken. Also if some were to reach maturity there are multiple stores nearby that I could sell them to for credit.

I'm thinking about possibly going with Giant Danios in the hope that their larger size would deter the other fish from attacking them. I'm worried though that such large fish would not work out well in the constraints of the tank.

Finally are there any non fish animals that might work in this sort of tank? I like the blue lobsters, but from what I've found they would not work in a set up like this, so I'm thinking about African frogs or some sort of larger shrimp.