Please Help! First case of Ich!

9 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

Tien6079

by Tien6079

I have had bad luck this week. I left this morning and my fish looked fine. By the time I got home they were covered in Ich! I am still new to saltwater so this is my first case, I did some research on ich before posting, but I wanted to get some of your input and experience. Here is my tank info:

-effectively 100 gallons after decor and sand
-nitrites low
-nitrates high (unfortunately the rock work in my aquarium traps waste. I cannot remove the rock. I do regular water changes, but I am going to have to do much more to keep up with my nitrate build up.)
-2 large canister filters totaling 160 gallons worth of filtration.
-2 Mono Sebae, 1 Powder brwn tang, 1 columbian cat, 1 (small) lion, 1 stone fish, 1 (small) spiney box puffer, 2 damsels.
-SG = 1.024

I made some mistakes that led to the ich. First, about 9 days ago I stressed the heck out of my fish when I went to net some that I traded in. It took me 45 min to net them. I introduced the tang which I understand is highly susceptable to ich. 3 days ago i accidentally knocked the knob on my heater causing a 5 degree drop in temp the next day. The temperature is now stable.

I can set up a 12 gal QT tank, but most of my fish are infected and I cannot put them all in the 12 gal. I have already done a 10 gal water change with fresh water to lower the salinity and will continue until the SG is 1.010. I have also raised the temp a little to fight off the ich.

Here are my questions for you?
Should I medicate the whole tank with copper (even with my porous rock background)?
Should I give the fish fresh water baths in addition to treating the main tank?
How high should I raise my temperature?
Should I buy a UV sterilizer?
Will copper and a UV sterilizer together completely kill my biological filtration?