New Member...New Tank, little help?

8 posts

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

jonnyc1207

by jonnyc1207

I have a 46 gallon bowfront freshwater going. it's been going now for about 3 weeks. I 've added 4 african cichlids, figure eight puffer, albino dwarf frog, 3 zebra danios (from the cycling stage) 2 tetras and a filthy gourami....

My question is, I've had a tetra whisper ex70 running on it since start up. I'm happy with the flow rate and it's done a pretty good job so far. I've just been reading terrible reviews on it. I bought a marineland biofilter 350b yesterday and i wanna put that in it. I don't want to mess up the bacteria in the tank by taking out the tetra. Can I have both filters running simultaneously? the flow rate of both is 350 GPH...that would total 700 GPH.

would that be too much filtration? would that kill any of the fish....

(I'll post some pics soon....sorry im a newbie)

Snowboss4492

by Snowboss4492

WELCOME Jonnyc............im a salt guy but can answer your question......over filtering won't kill fish, if you suck one up in a intake then thats a different story...............if you have room, set the new filter up and let it run for a couple weeks and then discontinue the old one, you should be fine

again.........welcome to the site there are some awsome fresh water people in here

Snowboss

Tmercier834747

by Tmercier834747

First off I'll agree with boss. As long as fish aren't being sucked to your intake (which can happen in any size aquarium but usually only to weak fish, or fry), and there are dead spots where fish can rest at night (places where the water isn't moving or is barely moving), you're not overfiltering. Generally HOB's cause most water movement at the top of the water line so I'm assuming even with 700gph you'd have some dead spots.