I need help. I am new at this.

6 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

tarpon

by tarpon

I have a 29g biocube with the stock filter etc... It cycled quickly with live rock and I am about to add a yellow headed jawfish(I have 3 inches of sand), a brittle star, and a cleaner shrimp. I am planning on adding a oc. clownfish, maybe a flame angel, and a blenny or something after the first fish have been in for a month or so. When would it be ok to add my first coral? What about the lighting in the oceanic biocubes? what kind of protein skimmer should I get? Do I wait on the skimmer until I decide to get the coral? Sorry so many questions but I am new at this.

Snowboss4492

by Snowboss4492

Welcome tarpon !!!!! lol I'm not going to answer any of your questions because I am new to this hobby as well...BUT.....I will give you the secret password to your questions...............just post your questions with the word "CORAL" in it and a gentleman named Saltwater pimp will reply...his knowledge is incredable on these little creatures and he has saved my tank a couple times now and I would stand in the middle of the road waveing a chicken over my head if he told me it would make my tank better {lol not really, but I trust his advice compleatly} - -good luck Oceanic makes some nice tanks ...looking forward to some pics, Snowboss

saltwaterpimp

by saltwaterpimp

tarpon welcome. did you say coral...lol. i would slow down a bit. let you tank establish for a little while.your star fish will die with out establishing the sand bed. how many watts are your lights?what spectrum?what kind of corals do you want? you should get a skimmer before anything else.... dont worry about the questions thats what we are here for..

tarpon

by tarpon