Getting into saltwater tanks..

11 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

kraz3one

by kraz3one

I recently had a freshwater planted tank and now that I move away from that tank i left it with my brother. I was going to start another one but I've decided to go saltwater instead. I'm not quite sure if I want to go reef, hard coral, soft, or any details for that matter. I'm just trying to start a semi-nano tank in my dinning room. Just wanting ideas or advices will help greatly. Its a 30 gallon tank so I'm no expert in saltwater tanks but parameters probably be a little difficult to maintain in a tank of it size. Still beats a 20 or 10 gallon.

blueshoes2208

by blueshoes2208

well at least you understand that smaller is harder. That tank depending on what kind of corals you want to get, can cost im guessing from 800- 1000 $ to fully set up, i misjudged mine by a long shot, 800 - 1000 is what i guessed mine would b at, right now im at like 850 and i dont even have my light or my protien skimmer, no fish or corals haha. If you want to get into lps, sps youre going to need better skimming and higher amounts of light, of course, and if you ahve looked at lighting lately its the same as a car payment. This hobby is time consuming and extremely expensive but welcome to it.

kraz3one

by kraz3one

Same for the planted tank but lighting wasn't so expensive haha. I think I'm going to try to get a 150-250w light which ever I can afford January. I'm thinking about a 20gallon in the bottom for a refug because i hate the clutter look of it hanging on the back or riding the tank. I have a little light about 48w to put with that 20gallon. I still dont completely understand refug any DIY on it? or good sites to refer me to. Thanks hopefully this wont be a waste of time.

kraz3one

by kraz3one

Looking to spend about 250 on a metal halide any suggest on a good one?

blueshoes2208

by blueshoes2208