Sailfin gone just in time

14 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

schigara

by schigara

I have been babysitting a Sailfin Tang for many months more than originally planned but he is now gone and just in time for my last fish, for my tank, which will be introduced tomorrow.

I was keeping a Sailfin tang for a friend while he upgraded his tank and the tank was finally ready today.

The Tang is gone and my tank is back to looking proportional. No more gigantic fish swimming back and forth. Don't get me wrong, I love Tangs but, in a 75g, any Tang is gigantic.

Even though my system, with a Xenia scrubber, was able to handle the waste from a Sailfin Tang and still register zero nitrates, I am very happy to see it go. I no longer will have to feed the tank so heavily. That damn Tang would consume 5x's the food the other smaller fish would capture.

In a surprisingly well timed way, my LFS notified me today he has my last fish ready to go. I have been waiting more than 6 months for this Potter's Leopard Wrasse and it is finally here. Black, Bipartitus, Meleagris and even Ornatus are fairly easy to come by but the Potter's Leopard seems to be much more difficult to get.

newbie916

by newbie916

I think that's why my nitrates have been so hard to keep down. Those tangs eat non-stop and crap like there's no tomorrow. I'm probably going to trade my sailfin and yellow tang when I get back home.

Congrats on the new Potter's leopard wrasse!! Post some pics when you get him settled in.

littlej2455

by littlej2455

very cool man. I just order my last fish today too. It is suppose to come in after Christmas though. It is a sohal tang.

schigara

by schigara

Well, I put him in the tank yesterday after lights out and he buried and I have yet to see him again. Hopefully he will make a showing tomorrow.

schigara

by schigara