New saltwater tank

9 posts

Discuss all topics related to saltwater / reef tanks.

blakeas

New saltwater tank

by blakeas

I am a beginner and took advice here and got a big tank - 105G with a sump, skimmer, etc. But would like to read more - where on the web should I go? How do I go about getting live rock. is there a cheap option - I am on a budget. also go to the beach and bring back sand?? Thanks for the help!

blueshoes2208

by blueshoes2208

okkkk so where do we start...
humm.... so youre on a 105 gallon tank wtih a sump so what are you wanting to put in the tank? Are you wanting to put just fish or are you wanting to put corals? Check craigslist, ebay or liveaquaria for live rock, what about your lfs ( local fish store) what does it/ they have? I am not quite sure about the sand from the beach we will see what other people say about that. Marinedepot and MarineDepotlive.com are good websites for fish and supplies, i wouldnt buy their live rock its a lil pricy. Bluezooaquatics also has an assortment of fish and corals.
Welcome..... i was in your shoes in August

Snowboss4492

by Snowboss4492

along with very good forums like this one ..................try www.wetwebmedia.com

it a very good information site done by pros and scientists and explains why your doing something as opposed to "just do this or that"