General Newbie Questions?

176 posts • Page 1 of 18

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

bigwillcast

by bigwillcast

How's it going guys (and girls)

I'm Will, I'm in my third year at Central Michigan University and I'm about to pick up my first tank today (50 gal). I've been looking all around at a ton of fishtanks on here and I decided I'm going with freshwater.

This is what I want to model it after: http://www.ratemyfishtank.com/photo-main.php/6521

My questions are:

A. Is my over-the-back filter going to suck up that crushed coral and destroy it?
B. How do I stack rocks like that, I assume it's mighty heavy (do I have to worry about the glass breaking?) and how do I stop them from tumbling?

In addition,

I've tried to send some people messages asking the same questions and they've responded to me.. but how the hell do I open up their messages? I can't click the lil notepad graphic and if I click their name it goes to their personal page? any ideas?

Thanks!

Snowboss4492

by Snowboss4492

the messager thing is a little messed up, when you clic reply it doesn't automatically put the subject in and if you don't type one in then the person you sent it to can't open it, happened to me a few times...........

that being said, welcome to the hobby and the site on behalf of everyone

I am not a fresh water guy but love to talk tanks, lol,

the questions you asked are basic to all tanks, the filter will suck up substatrate and detonate a filter, BUT, only if you put the pick up to close to it, so as long as your 3-5 inches off the bottom and don't have a powerhead blowing sand at it, you'll be fine