Amonia in a fish tank

8 posts

Member introductions and random (non-aquarist) topics.

josephine

Amonia in a fish tank

by josephine

I am new to fishkeeping. I have a 250 litre tank, freshwater tropical, which is 11 weeks old. The amonia level is still sitting at 0.3 or sometimes 0.6 and this is every day. I am feeding the fish correctly and am not overstocked. The filter runs at 1000 l/ph. It is an external filter with sponge and ceramic rings. My nitrites are zero and I have a small amount of algae but I have live plants and the algae is well controlled. The fish all seem happy and active.
I have today added a separate external filter with chemical filtration included - it is the tetra 700 filter. It includes sponges, rings and carbon and I have included amonia remover and nitrite and phosphate remover.
Why has my amonia stayed so high? By this time it should have been nil. Adding cycle did nothing to the amonia at all but burnt a hole in my pocket.
I want a tank with an amonia reading of zero.
64a09-fish tank october 08.jpg

a1k8t31524

by a1k8t31524

what are the reading on all of our tests nitrates and nitrites

josephine

by josephine

Nitrites nil, nitrates - I don't know but I have a very little algae in the tank (a fine layer forms on the glass but not on the plants and lots of real plants. I do a 10% water change every week and stir up the gravel a little every day as the tank is deeper than usual. After adding the second filtration system a day or two ago that has amonia remover in it, I tested the amonia today and it is 0.1. I think that biological filtration alone probably doesn't work.

josephine

by josephine

I've checked - I have been using the Hagen cycle. I have spent hundreds of rands on it. I even started to think that people were tampering with the bottles. I am not using it anymore. I also started to think that perhaps the test was faulty and designed to show some amonia so that I buy more cycle...

a1k8t31524

by a1k8t31524