Please help with snails...

14 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

jweb1369

by jweb1369

Why is it that all the snails I get just die? After one day of having 3 mystery snails they all just died. The tank was just setup, it is completely freshwater. Is that bad for snails? I know that they need slightly salty water for their shells. I also just read that they need 3-4 inches of the water to be down for them to lay eggs and breath air. Which I did not have for them. anyways, the next day the water was cloudy and they were half in and half out of their shell with very slow reaction time. I took them and threw them in the pond outside thinking they were dying. I have no idea about snails and I am just getting into them for food for my puffer. I need to figure them out though fast, because my puffer needs to clip down his beak. Please help.

a1k8t31524

by a1k8t31524

what is your PH?

jweb1369

by jweb1369

my pH was like 7.0 i think, it is straight from tap. I haven't tested anything yet because i dont have my new kit in and my old one run out. Anyways I see the little nuisance snails in there. There is like 3 of them in one spot so that's a great sign! Oh if I want to add some salt to it for their shells how much instant ocean should i put in there???

Tmercier834747

by Tmercier834747

if this is a FW tank..uh...NONE. As far as my understanding of PH goes a snail will survive in a pH ranging from 6.2-8.?+...the more acidic (<7.0) the harder it will be for a snail to grow or maintain its shell. My mystery snail has been living in my 16 gal with a pH of 6.4 for months, and doing well at it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjz17-vBUdQ

Instant ocean will probably kill any FW fish you have...and no doubt hurt the snails more than help...

someone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.