Water Changes too frequent

16 posts • Page 1 of 2

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460

My aquarium store salesman told me that too frequent of water changes is bad... even if its only 10% change about twice a week. Anyone else agree or disagree?

Fishboy134534

by Fishboy134534

He was right. I am new to this and I am starting out with a 10 gallon tank. At first I read that I was supposed to change the water every other week, but recently I was told that changing the water too much isn't good. If the tank looks dirty, of course, change the water, but if the fish are doing fine and the water looks clear, maybe you should change the water every 3 weeks. but you must make sure to at least change the water once a month. Hope you find this helpful! check out my tank!

dnimidej

by dnimidej

what a conflicting issue, from my understanding of all the books i have read, the more water changes the better,water parameters change the longer you leave the water in the tank, by do water changes you replacing trace elements that have been lost,alkalinity, your ph drops etc. you reup these by doing water changes.remember 10% of ten gal. means you would be taking 1 gallon of water a week,anymore than that you would be chaning to much water wich could have a direct effect on the fish.

grimace4497

by grimace4497

I think the salesman would be refering to a new setup. As long as your filters are established I dont see a problem with 20% a week, I think you will see an increase in growth rate.

Peterkarig3210

by Peterkarig3210