just a little rant about picture ratings.

9 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Poetic_Irony2267

by Poetic_Irony2267

ok so i was reviewing my profile and looking at my picture ratings, and some nut out there has gone through and voted almost all of my fish pictures with 1's and 0's. i can understand someone who may not like discus as that's their preference, i would really like to see if this person reads this post and actually sends me a msg stating why they would rate me a one as for the quality of most of pictures on my profile is pretty decent, maybe not the best quality in the world as i am only an immature photographer with an ancient digital camera, i am just a little taken back by this as i am almost lead to believe that who ever has voted me that low doesn't take half the time or care of their tank as i put into mine. not that i am bragging or being a spoiled brat or being that guy who can't take criticism or handle being rated low for picture quality. i was just a little shocked that someone could rate what i think are awesomely beautiful fish so low.

Brandon

miami754

by miami754

Yeah, I have received several 1s and 0s as well. I guess it all depends on peoples' opinions and I am sure there are people out there that do stuff like that to be funny as well.
Last edited by miami754 on Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

spongebob4460

by spongebob4460

Its the nature of a rating system... there will inevitably be people who rate everything a 9 and 10... there will be people who rate everything a 5 ... and those that rate everything 1 and 0. It is unavoidable... however, the beauty of numbers in mass is that they average themselves out... outliers will always be outliers... the mass will average to the number that represents a general consensus, because if that person rates your tank a 1 they are most likely rating everyone else's a 1. This is the theory at least.