2 odd things

9 posts

Discuss all topics related to freshwater and planted tanks.

Poetic_Irony2267

2 odd things

by Poetic_Irony2267

just wanted to put this up and get your thoughts, something has been happening in my tank that has me worried, one my discus have been acting somewhat aggressively towards each other, just wondering as i am new to discus if this is a normal thing?

the next thing is i have an angel fish acting odd, swimming near top of tank and or hiding way back in the plants, he is not acting normal at all, none of my other fish have any symptoms of illness, and the other thing i notices is at the base of the pectoral fins they are a bit swollen and reddish in color, have tried to find this disease or what this constitutes but nothing is coming up that's worth anything?
thanks in advance.
Brandon

miami754

by miami754

What species of discus is the aggressive guy. They are as a general rule peaceful, but there are some species that can be more aggressive than others (aggressive when compared to other discus).

Also, what are the relative sizes of the discus (i.e. is the bully bigger than the others)? Is anyone mating in the tank? Were they all introduced together? Have there been new additions? All of these things can set a particular discus off and make him start to fight with some of the others. Like I said before, they are generally peaceful - but they have to live up to the cichlid name somehow, right.

I'm not sure about the angel. Is he getting picked on by anyone? Sounds almost like the behavior of my secondary cichlid males (except for the swollen, red part). Spongebob keeps angels so maybe he will know. I have never had them. Good luck.

Poetic_Irony2267

by Poetic_Irony2267